NAIDOC Week

Join Rumata’ Artspace and the Australian Consulate-General Makassar for a virtual NAIDOC WEEK 2020 "Always Was, Always Will Be" – the celebration of the historical links between Makassan trepangers and the Yolŋu People of north-eastern Arnhem Land through a webinar discussion and virtual art exhibition.

The webinar will explore shared Makassar-Yolŋu history dating back to the 1700s and feature a keynote lecture by Professor Lynette Russell (Director, Monash Indigenous Studies Centre), presentations by Lily Yulianti Farid PhD (Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Monash Indigenous Studies Centre), Fikri Yathir (In-country Research Assistant, Monash Indigenous Studies Centre), and Andi Buyung Saputra (Aliansi Masyarakat Adat Sulawesi Selatan or South Sulawesi Indigenous Peoples’ Alliance).

The virtual art exhibition will showcase the artwork of Makassan and Yolŋu artists through a virtual tour of Rumata’ Artspace in Makassar (hosted by Febri Hasanah) and the Buku-Larrŋgay Mulka Art Centre in Yirrkala (hosted by Siena Stubbs), where the audience will learn about the influence of historical trade and maritime cooperation with Makassan trepangers on the artwork of Yolŋu artists. Following the virtual tour, a group of Indonesian graphic artists will host a storytelling and artist conversation session called MAAF (‘sorry’) based on a series of graphic novels depicting Makassar-Yolŋu interactions using the Japanese animation sub-culture ‘hetalia’.

Below are the details:

  • Tuesday, 10 November 2020
  • Webinar: 15.00 - 17.00 WITA (6.00 PM – 8.00 PM AEDT)
  • Virtual Exhibition: 17.00 - 18.00 WITA (8.00 PM – 9.00 PM AEDT)

Please register here.


Back to Top