Australia Awards in Indonesia

The Australia Awards are prestigious, transformational scholarships and short courses offered to emerging leaders for study, research and professional development in Australia


The Australia Awards include:

  • Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships provide opportunities to citizens of participating countries from Asia, the Pacific, the Middle East and Africa, for full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at Australian institutions.

More information on Australia Awards Scholarships

  • Australia Awards Fellowships

Australia Awards Fellowships offer Australian organisations the opportunity to deepen their links with leaders and professionals in developing countries through high-quality training. It targets current and future leaders who will advance priority foreign affairs and development issues upon their return home.

More information on Australia Awards Fellowships

  • Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships

Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships provide people from the Pacific the opportunity to study at selected education institutions in the Pacific region, in order to gain and build the required knowledge to influence their home country's development.

More information on Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships

  • ACIAR Fellowships

The ACIAR (Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research) Fellowships Scheme provides the opportunity for partner country scientists involved in ACIAR-supported research projects to obtain postgraduate qualifications at Australian tertiary institutions, through the John Allwright and John Dillon Memorial fellowships.

More information on ACIAR Fellowships

Over time, the Australia Awards are helping to build enduring links between Australia and a new generation of international leaders for the 21st century.

Australia Awards in Indonesia

The Australia Awards in Indonesia program carries on a tradition of providing scholarships that have been offered by the Australian Government for more than 60 years. The objective of Australia Awards in Indonesia is to enhance Indonesia’s development through the contributions of internationally qualified professionals and strong and positive relationship with Australia.

Since 1953, more than 9,000 Indonesian scholarship recipients have studied at Australian tertiary institutions through long term and short term study, with many going on to take up leadership positions and make a significant difference to Indonesia’s development.

Australia Awards in Indonesia offers two types of scholarships: postgraduate courses (Long Term Awards) and intensive tailored short courses (Short Term Awards). The most able and promising candidates are given awards following a competitive selection process.

Successful graduates will become part of the Australia Awards Global and Indonesia alumni network, a vast and actively supported community of influential alumni.

Why apply for an Australia Awards in Indonesia scholarship?

  • Study at the post-graduate level (Masters and PhD) at your choice of Australian university
  • Participate in tailored Short Term Awards for future leaders and decision makers from Indonesia to build strong links with Australia
  • Benefit from in-Indonesia Pre-Departure Training and in-Australia Introductory Academic Program (for Long Term Awards), tuition fee, living expenses, return flights to Australia, reunion airfare (for Masters by Research and PhD scholarship recipients)
  • Take part in an enrichment program to build connections between awardees and Australian counterparts with emphasis on organisational and professional linkages
  • Join more than 9,000 Australia Awards alumni from Indonesia and more than 100,000 Indonesian alumni who have studied in Australian tertiary education institutions - together forming an influential and highly regarded alumni network
  • Participate in an environment that supports the equal participation of applicants that are women, have a disability and/or are from a designated Geographic Focus Area (Aceh, East Nusa Tenggara, West Nusa Tenggara, Maluku, North Maluku, Papua and West Papua).


Back to Top